The Who2 Blog

Oscar Nominees 2008

The 2008 Academy Awards are set for tonight at 8:00 Eastern, 5:00 Pacific, and 3:00 Honolulu time.

They’re called the 2008 Oscars although the films involved are, of course, from 2007. This is easy to understand now, but will cause confusion and mild irritation in years to come when biographers explain that actor X won a 2008 Oscar for film Y, then have to clarify that film Y was released in 2007.

(Yes, it’s a pet peeve.)

Here are the nominees for the acting Oscars:

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett
Julie Christie
Marion Cotillard
Laura Linney
Ellen Page

Best Actor
George Clooney
Daniel Day-Lewis
Johnny Depp
Tommy Lee Jones
Viggo Mortensen

[Post-Oscar update: The winners were Marion Cotillard and Daniel Day-Lewis.]

Cate Blanchett, by the way, is nominated as both best actress (for Elizabeth: The Golden Age and best supporting actress (for I’m Not There). No actor or actress has ever won both the best and best supporting awards in one year.

Related Biographies

Share this: