Facts about Avi

Born: 1937
Best known as: The author of The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

Buy from Amazon.com: Books by Avi


Avi Biography

Name at birth: Edward Irving Wortis

Avi is the author of several novels for young readers and has won Newbery awards for The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle (1990), Nothing But The Truth (1991) and Poppy (1995). A longtime librarian before becoming a novelist, he has written historical novels, comedies, animal adventures and ghost stories. His books include No More Magic (1979), The Man Who Was Poe (1990) and Beyond the Western Sea (1997).

Extra credit

He has said he got the nickname Avi from his sister, but was too young to remember why… Avi does not use his family name because they discouraged him from becoming a writer.


Something in Common with Avi