Facts about Langston Hughes

Langston Hughes died at 65 years old
Best known as: Author of The Weary Blues (1926)

Buy from Amazon.com: Books by Langston Hughes


Langston Hughes Biography

Langston Hughes published more than three dozen books during his life, starting out with poetry and then expanding into novels, short stories, and plays.

He is closely associated with the Harlem Renaissance, the flowering of African-American literature and music in New York City following World War One, but he wrote poetry, books, and newspaper columns right through into the 1960s.

Hughes’s work often spoke plainly about the lives of ordinary black people, which in later years earned him a reputation as one of the major black voices of the 1900s.

His works include the poetry volumes The Weary Blues (1926) and Shakespeare in Harlem (1942), the novel Not Without Laughter (1930), and the short story collection The Ways of White Folks (1934). He wrote two personal memoirs: The Big Sea (1940) and I Wonder as I Wander (1956).


Related Biography

Something in Common with Langston Hughes