U.S. Library of Congress

Robert Falcon Scott

January, 1912: Robert Falcon Scott and his expedition reach the South Pole. The expedition members Capt. Lawrence Oates, Lt. Henry Robertson Bowers, Capt. Robert F. Scott, Dr. Edward A. Wilson, and P.O. Edgar Evans stand at the South Pole after reaching it by an overland expedition.  All five men died on their return march from the pole.

See our biography of Robert Falcon Scott