Deutsche Bundespost

The Rudolf Diesel postage stamp

A Rudolf Diesel postage stamp, celebrating the 100th anniversary of the birth of the inventor of the Diesel engine. "Saar Land" is a portion of Bavaria that is now one of the states of Germany. 12f stands for 12 francs, as this stamp was released in 1958, during the post-World War II period when Saar Land was under French administration. The next year, 1959, Saar Land adopted the German mark as its currency.

More: Death by Yacht