Challenger Crew Photo

The crew of the space shuttle Challenger. From left: Payload Specialists Christa McAuliffe and Gregory B. Jarvis, Mission Specialist Judith A. Resnik, Commander Francis R. Scobee, Mission Specialist Ronald E. McNair, Pilot Michael J. Smith, Mission Specialist Ellison S. Onizuka. Sadly, all were killed when Challenger exploded 73 seconds after launch on January 28, 1986.

See our biography of Christa McAuliffe